I am just a Child

I am just a child

I am supposed to be free

Carefree in this world we live in

And yet, I am witness to wars

to destruction, to hate

I am just a child

How do I hide my innocence?

How do I save it?

What can I do to not

grow up before my time?

I am just a child

I should be playing and

eating candy and swinging on

branches but yet here I am

with not a smile on my face

I am just a child

Please do not take away

my childhood before my time

©NJ

Image courtesy:- Publicdomainarchive

In response to dVerse’s Poetics prompt: Mugging for the Camera

45 thoughts on “I am just a Child

  1. “What can I do to not
    grow up before my time?”

    So very well done. You’ve taken a 1920’s mugshot and placed it in universal time. This plea can be for all children everywhere. A beautiful write. Thank you so much for participating in the prompt! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oohhh Nj..this brings tears in my eyes..i am not a perfect human being but i can proudly say my love for my kids is perfect..and much as i want to protect them
    ..i can only do so much
    ..sigh..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “What can I do to not / grow up before my time?” The lines haven’t lost their relevance even in this 21st century. They truly remind me of countries, societies where there’s no place for childhood. So sad.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

