To Listen or Not To Listen

 

I am quiet

I am shy

I do not talk much

But I try.

In that trying

I am talkative

I am strong

And I come across

As someone fun.

But, sometimes

I would like

To stay still and quiet

And listen.

Listen to the words

Spoken, unspoken

Feel the emotions

Of the other person.

But then people say

I’m cold and broken

Because I don’t give them

Words in return.

I thought when

Someone talked

You need to listen.

Am I wrong?

©NJ

Image courtesy:- Pixabay.

20 thoughts on “To Listen or Not To Listen

  1. it can really be confusing though. ..when we speak or minds we are tagged to be rude..but when we don’t. .we are snob. .
    at any rate you have beautiful thoughts always Nj..so make it heard by everyone else..be not afraid .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. NJ! This was such an Excellent Poem!! So soft and yet so strong in support of listening. This was really profound! Bravo!!!

    Thanks so much for visiting my works and now following! I am clicking to follow You too. You hooked me with this!
    The Reluctant Poet
    Chuck

    P.S. Check out the book “Poemcrazy” on Amazon and the reviews. This book was a Treasure for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you so much for such a lovely feedback, Chuck 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading your posts too. And I will definitely check out the book. Thank you for the suggestion 🙂

      P.S. I’m curious as to why you call yourself The Reluctant Poet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

