Z for Zebra Cake

Zebra cake is another version of a marbled cake. In a Marbled Cake, you scoop up each part of the batter separately and drop them in the tin in various places and then with a spoon or a knife or a toothpick, you swirl around the batter to give it marbled look.

In a Zebra Cake, you drop the batter in turns. So you have two parts of the batter. One plain and one with cocoa. When it’s time to pour the batter into the tin you put it spoon by spoon. So starting with either of the batters, you take a spoon (preferably tablespoon) of say the plain batter and put in the middle of the tin. Then you take the cocoa batter and put that in the middle of the plain batter and continue till you’re done filling the tin with all of the batter. It’s a bit time consuming and you need to be patient to get the desired effect. But once it’s done and baked, it looks perfect. At least, that’s what all the recipes indicate. I haven’t tried it yet. I have made Marbled Cakes but not in this fashion.

I find it extremely fun to try out various designs with the batter itself. You can create funky designs, pretty ones, colourful ones. There’s a plethora of choices available. And if you’re artistic, you don’t even have to worry about it. You can create your own desgins.

This year is all about exploring for me. Especially when it comes to baking. I have been on a cookie baking spree these past few months and it’s likely to continue for the whole year. But I want to venture into other categories. I am planning on making Eclairs this week for a small (about five people) lunch gathering. I haven’t made these before and I am crossing my fingers and hoping they turn out great. My sister has faith in me and hasn’t even thought of a backup plan. So I cannot screw it up. I have been experimenting with my own recipes too but they are not fool proof yet. With this whole month surrounding the topic on baking, I am the least bit exhausted. It’s something I enjoy so I guess I never really will be tired of it.

P.S. Hope you all enjoyed reading the posts. This was my first attempt at the challenge and I guess I did pretty okay. If I do decide to join in next year, I’ll strive to do better. But I want to thank everyone who visited and read and took the time out to comment on my posts too. I really appreciate it and am ever so grateful. I hope you continue to read my posts and enjoy the journey. To all the lovely people whose blogs I’ve been reading and following, my journey with you all does not end with April. You are now part of my ‘blogging friends’ group’ and I will continue to read your posts as and when I can.

©NJ

Image courtesy:- Google.

23 thoughts on “Z for Zebra Cake

  1. Of course I will continue to read your posts 💜💜
    This year was my first attempt too, I mixed photography and writing (photography when I was too lazy to write) 😁 but it’s fun isn’t it. A challenge 26days of blogging🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that’s a neat idea. Adding photography to it 😁 And yes, it’s absolute fun. Although now I need to concentrate on the photography blog too😁 But thank you dear, for reading each and every one of my posts 😘😘 I’m grateful for that. Here’s to more crazy posts 😁😁

      Like

      1. 😘😘 who doesn’t love desserts😀😀
        Hey NJ, I will add you in my other blog. I do all the writing there. 😀
        I go by the pen name supercalifragilisticexpialidocious in that blog.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You have another blog for writing?! No wonder I couldn’t find your posts. I will hop over soon and read them, Miss Poppins 😁

        Like

      3. Right now, I’m only posting for Jithin’s Mundane Monday Challenge. I need to buck up and post for other prompts too 😁😁

        Like

    1. I’d offer your Zebra some Zebra cake but I don’t know if they eat cakes 😁 Thank you for reading my posts. I truly appreciate you taking the time to do so. May the blogging journey of writing and reading continue 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

