U for Upside Down Cake

Fresh Figs, Walnut and Rosemary Upside Down Cake

I’ve always found Upside Down cakes tricky. Not the baking part but the ‘taking out of tin’ part. If a regular cake gets stuck or breaks a bit here and there, you can fix it and still make it look pretty. How in the world are you supposed to do that with an Upside Down cake?!

The first time I had an Upside Down cake was this year. For my birthday. It’s the post for the letter P. It turned out perfect, did not stick to the tin and came out clean and neat out of it. After seeing that, I had hope for when I baked one too.

I recently found this amazing recipe online and I have become a huge fan of it. I’ve never used Fresh Figs or Rosemary in baking and I was dying to do so. The taste of fresh figs is something out of this world. They taste far better than the dried ones.

Anyway, this recipe I followed to the T. Usually I lessen the sugar or add some extra chocolate or walnuts etc. Nothing too out of the way but just the stuff that I know won’t alter the taste too much.

Boy oh boy, did the cake turn out perfectly. I was petrified till the moment I took the cake out of the tin. But it slid right out and did not stick at all. The figs moved a bit from their original positions but who cares. I successfully baked an Upside Down cake.

Oh and did I tell you we were in cake heaven as we ate it? It tasted D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S.

©NJ

P.S. You can check out more of her recipes at Sweetly Serendipity.

2 thoughts on “U for Upside Down Cake

Leave a Reply

