P for Pineapple Cake

Upside Down Pineapple Cake made by my sister for my birthday.

I enjoy cakes that have fruits in them. Be in bananas, apples, pears, strawberries, pineapples etc. a fruity cake is equally delicious as compared to a Chocolate or a Coffee cake. Now, I’ve eaten pineapple cakes outside and I can’t really say that I’m a big fan of those particular ones. They are either too soggy or extremely sweet as if the whole thing was dipped in sugar water and then served. There are a few places that dish out awesome ones but nothing that will make me go back there again.

A couple of months back, I celebrated my birthday. My sister had made this gorgeous looking Upside Down Pineapple Cake. Now, if I’m not mistaken, upside down cakes started with pineapples. I think. I’m not sure. But whenever I hunt for recipes that have pineapples in them, Upside Down cakes are right up there.

As you all know by now, I love to bake. But I don’t eat much of the baked goodies. Yes, I have already mentioned that in my ‘about’ section so if you’re wondering if I’m weird or nuts, you wonder right. It’s not just the goodies that I baked; it is in regards to all desserts.

Let’s just say that I find it easy to stop or say no when it comes to desserts. When it comes to baking for me, the simpler it is the better. I’m not a fan of oodles of cream/buttercream etc. I like them without the whole caboodle and I like them small. A gigantic cake for me will just live its life out in the fridge instead of being gobbled up by me. Hence when it comes to my birthdays in particular, my sister always looks for something that’s small, not too sweet and definitely not overly creamy or buttery.

©NJ

Leave a Reply

