C for Cheesecake

I’m not really ga-ga over cheese. I like it in salads, I like it in my pizza, I even like it in a slice of cheesecake but my eyes won’t pop out in the shape of hearts at the sight of it. So all you cheese lovers, I’m sorry. If it’s any consolation, I bake a decent cheesecake. Now you love me, doncha? 😉

When it comes to baking, Nigella Lawson is one of my favourite people. I don’t care what time her shows come up on TV, I’d be there, watching, drooling, forgetting that life exists around me etc. I’ve had people literally drool over just by listening to the word cheesecake.

I remember the first time I had a taste of it. It was in the most unconventional place possible – Heathrow airport, London. I bet not even in a million guesses would you have gotten that right! For reasons that don’t need to be mentioned here, we were at the airport rescheduling our return to India after a month long holiday in the UK. Since we were waiting for the ticket counters to open, we had no choice but to hang about the terminal. So we stepped into a café and sat there for a while sipping on hot tea and having slices of cheesecake. I’ll skip over how ‘good’ it was. But as we sat there, my sister and I were talking about wanting to bake a cheesecake and deciding on which one and so on.

Skip a few years ahead and we baked our first cheesecake (Chocolate and Peanut Butter) thanks to Nigella Lawson. It was perfect.

©NJ

P.S. A dear friend of mine just shared a drool-worthy poem about Cheesecake. Check it out here. Don’t blame me if you suddenly crave Cheesecake 😀

35 thoughts on “C for Cheesecake

    1. Hahahaha 😀 If I could, I definitely would. I am still hunting for courier services that sends cakes and other such around India. For now, I can only send cookies 🙂 ❤

      Like

      1. Haha, not much. Not in the summer at least. I’m not sure either. I moved here last year so… But there are loads of cool cafes to hang around and talk and talk and talk and talk and…. You get the gist, right?😉

        Like

      2. It’s been like that since March 🙁 Mumbai summers are pathetic anyway but Pune is something different altogether. Thankfully the nights are a bit cooler.

        Like

      3. Mumbai is humid. That’s actually better than dry heat. Atleast you sweat. In Bangalore it’s very dry and hot. Everytime I go out in this hot sun, I am getting heatstroke like symptoms. 😓😓😓 Even our Kitty is so frustrated with the heat, she bites us for no reason, like that gives her some respite from the heat. 😒

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I thought Bangalore would be cooler. Pune is dry heat too. It feels like the sun rays are stabbing you with its heat. My sister warned me that it will take me some time to get used to the heat. I tend to feel giddy or faint at times if the heat is too much. That’s why I make sure I keep water and something sweet on me.
        Aww, your poor kitty🙁 Poor you too for getting scratched by the poor thing.

        Like

      5. I got heatstroke twice since March. 😑 Actually, for this heat-induced giddyness, sweet is bad it seems. Only cool water or tender coconut water is good. Try splashing some cool water on the back of your neck. You ll feel better 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Yikes! Hope you’re doing better now. Take care of yourself 🙂 my problem is mostly with blood not reaching my brain. My head is filled with a lot of words, I guess. No space for anything else. Haha😁 Jokes apart. That’s why I was recommended to always keep something sweet on me. As for drinking water, yes yes. I drink water faster than I can fill the damn bottles 😂

        Like

      7. Head down, leg up Asana works for this condition (blood not reaching brain) 😛😛😂😂
        If it’s heatstroke then avoid sweets. I too thought I was feeling giddy because of less blood sugar so I used to drink a lot of sugary drinks. That alleviated the symptoms and I finally had to go the doc 😓
        Even I drink a lot of water -5/6litres per day excluding milk or tea. 😎😎

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Hahaha, I’ll topple over even before I can try that 😂😂 Although that might help too😁😉 Oh I don’t get heatstrokes. Just the low blood sugar thing.
        I wish we could attach pipes to our heads with a continuous flow of water 😂😂

        Like

Leave a Reply

