A for Apple Pie

I remember the first time we tried making an Apple Pie. It turned out a disaster of sorts. Well, not the actual product but in terms of the way it looked. It tasted delicious. Even more so with Vanilla Ice Cream. Mmmm, yum, yum! Anyway, back to reality. The reason it turned out ‘not so good’ was because the recipe neglected to mention a key step. And that’s just plain disastrous. Luckily the pie wasn’t to be gifted or other such.

When making the base of the pie, called the pie crust, the key element is to ensure that the dough is refrigerated for at least an hour. That’s what makes a good pie crust! Apart from following the other steps in the recipe, of course. But if you do not refrigerate the dough, then you just end up with flour and butter crumble. It’ll taste great taste with the filling though 😀

Our second attempt was successful. Thankfully! Needless to say, I’ve been experimenting with other fillings too. But Apple Pie is my favourite pie.

©NJ

16 thoughts on “A for Apple Pie

  1. Apple pie can be tricky! But always, always delicious. Yours looks scrumptious! I totally want apple pie now. With crumble topping, because yes that matters. 😉

    Great start to the challenge! I wrote about one of my favorite literary characters for A (which you can look at here, if you want), but now I’m sorta wishing I had made pie instead….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you so much 🙂 And, welcome to my blog, Rhea. I agree with you. It can be very tricky to bake. I learnt it that way 😀 But you are welcome to grab the Apple Pie 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I did food as an A-Z one year. It was fun and crazy with lots of cooking, baking and eating. We all got fat. Happy day at the end of the month when I said KITCHEN CLOSED. You have a lot going on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that does sound like crazy fun. I love to bake. I’m focusing solely on desserts so you can imagine how it’s going to be 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

