Goodbye, Old Friend

“I miss you”, sounds so simple
Yet, sometimes, it conveys everything
Or I hope it does
The happiest moment of your life
changed our lives… forever
We made decisions to ensure
our friendship never suffered
It was a bittersweet moment
with tears and laughter
We know we couldn’t hide from it,
so instead we adapted

Memories of childhood shared with you

Are now the only poignant memories

I remember….

You were the light in my darkness,
A darkness I never realised I was in
You held on to me without knowing
that I had already jumped off the cliff
Thus, rescuing me and saving me
From that moment on, life changed
Or rather my view of it did
Living is wonderful, you taught me that
Even though at times life can be cruel,
I learned to laugh, be happy

None of these you said to me
Your gestures alone showed me the way

Years ago I never would have thought
you’d be my friend, let alone a lasting one
But we survived, through every turmoil
and ploughed through rigidly
I may have lost that friend, that friend
from when we were just ten
But with time, we both changed
and grew to respect each other more

Our choices and decisions stood the time

We may have drifted yet we’re closer than ever

I may not have lost you completely
but I have lost you in some way
I have long accepted it, I knew it all along
But I know I’ll never lose our friendship
and that, with confidence, I can say

© NJ

Image courtesy:- Pixabay

Written in response to dVerse’s prompt, Elegy. It might not fit the prompt to a but well, this is my first attempt at it. If I don’t try, I will never succeed.

Written for someone I’m friends with for more than 25 years now. We’ve come a long way and had to make some tough decisions to work this friendship out. We brought a lot of changes in the relationship and in ourselves to make it successful. In spite of it all, we’re stronger than ever. There are a lot of moments that I miss and I know that they will never ever return. Do I miss those times? In a way, yes. But I think I am more than grateful to have him in my life even though we’re distant than not having him in my life. He is worth it and I know that no matter what, we will ALWAYS be there for each other whenever required.

26 thoughts on “Goodbye, Old Friend

  1. “We may have drifted yet we’re closer than ever”

    ~Awwwee… now I suddenly missed my bestfriends. You recalled such great memories. Happy to know you have a long-lasting friendship with him, despite not always being around with each other. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. I never understood why on earth a guy and girl couldn’t be ‘just friends’. We were, still are and it’s one of the best relationships I have. Thank you, Bjorn 🙂

      Like

  2. You express your heart so wonderfully. And all relationships begin as friendships or they don’t begin at all. Anyone who denies that is a fool!To friends who are a different kind of lover. We miss them the longest!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 🙂 I am glad I was able to express it that way. What you say is so true. Every relationship does begin with a friendship. Sometimes, it goes into something more and sometimes it doesn’t. That is solely based on the two individuals involved. And, when you’re friends with someone for so long, you miss all the wonderful times spent together.

      Like

  3. I have a few of those “life long” friendships where we have changed and moved apart from one another but when we’re back in each other’s company it’s like we just pick up where we left off. So easy, so natural…I so value those relationships. I’m so glad that you wanted to share this…thank you.
    Gayle ~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here! I value those friendships tremendously and whenever we get the chance to meet, it’s like we’ve never been apart or something. Thank you for visiting and the lovely comment, Gayle 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

