Flourish (The Daily Prompt)

A year back my mum got into the mood of growing vegetables in whichever pots available. We don’t have a garden so the pots (or buckets) were placed strategically near the window. As a result, we’ve had our own home grown tomatoes, beans, aloe vera, chillis, bitter gourd etc. and it’s been fun! I’ve never seen a tomato plant. Let alone beans and bitter gourd, for goodness’ sake! So here are a few pictures showing the way a minuscule seed flourishes into a fruit.

Below you see a flower that eventually dries up and as the tomato begins to grow, either falls off on its own or you just need to tug it off. If you look closely, you can even see a flower bud next to the yellow flower.

Did you know that a tomato giving flower could be so bright and pretty?
Did you know that a tomato giving flower could be so bright and pretty?

Not all flowers flourish into tomatoes. Some just dry up and that’s about it. But some sprout tiny little green things which first look like grapes and then, of course, grow into giant ones.

My mum and I would get very excited the minute we would spot these giant looking green'grapes'.
My mum and I would get very excited the minute we would spot these giant looking green’grapes’.

I never thought that someday I’d have homegrown tomatoes but I did and that makes me very happy. Life’s all about the little pleasures you get.

There you go. Bright red juicy tomatoes await!
There you go. Bright red juicy tomatoes await!

© NJ

8 thoughts on “Flourish (The Daily Prompt)

  1. Awweee… This post brought me home. ❤ ❤ ❤ We have home-grown tomatoes back at home too but I never really pain much attention to it. I've never seen it with a flower that pretty! Hmm… I guess it's time to take a look at them when I get home. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oh myyyyy! this reminds me of my childhood as my mom’s ancestral house is almost in a mountain where fields of tomatoes and corns are aplenty. It is a delight to pick such red tomatoes!!! lovely!

    Like

    1. Aww, thank you ❤ Oh! I wish I could see fields of corns too! And tomatoes! And various other vegetables and flowers and what not. It must be so much fun to pick out fresh vegetables/fruits/flowers etc. and cook with them or even just eat them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

