NaPoWriMo Day 19: Mind, Paper, Pen

Should I ask or should I not?

Should I speak or should I just nod?

Should I state how I feel?

Or should I be looking at my feet?

My head’s abuzz with thoughts and words

My mouth just seems to strike me dumb

I’m scared to say what’s on my mind

Afraid it might not come out right

So I keep my thoughts where it belongs

Ensuring my mouth doesn’t make them fall

But what do I do with all those thoughts

Thoughts that threaten to come out in a burst

I think and take a paper and pen

And jot them down right till the end

Till that moment when my head’s empty

And begin the process of getting ready

To get filled once again with thoughts and words

Till I get that feeling that it’s just gonna burst

But now I’m ready with paper and pen

To note those words right till the end

©NJ

Due to unfortunate circumstances I will not be able to write any new poems for NaPoWriMo for the next few days. Though I will certainly write using the prompts and upload them post the challenge (whenever feasible). I am trying to write using the first week’s prompts and upload them. But there are no guarantees. In the meantime, I have scheduled poems that I had written much earlier, for the remaining days of NaPoWriMo. It is cheating of sorts, but, I really do not want to quit it halfway through. Heartfelt apologies to anyone and everyone who reads, likes, comments and follows my blog. Although I would appreciate your feedback. It is through those that I try and get better at writing. To all the friends that I’ve made and hope to make during this year’s NaPo challenge (and post it too!), I’m cheering you on! Best wishes and good luck from a blogger friend.

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 19: Mind, Paper, Pen

  1. Lovely how your thoughts cascade through this poem, NJ! I shared the same fear before. It took me how many years to start blogging because I have a lot of fears, but after I stumble to a Maya Angelou quote, “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”, I forget all my fears and just write. 🙂

    Lovely, NJ! 🙂 And I hope to read your schedule poems. I will not be nosy, but I just hope everything is fine my dear. Will wait for your return. 🙂 ❤

    Like

  2. I have read a lot about NaPoWriMO, but have never participated in it because I already have my time so obligated with other things I am writing. But when the need arises for which I must write – as poetry – it is on my blogs, mostly watchandwhirl because that blog is more about my personal life where my other blog is not about my life, but someone else’s. My poetry is often accompanied by piano music I recorded. it is often an outlet to keep from self combusting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

