NaPoWriMo Day 9: Defying Death

Years ago when I was 16

‘Life’, I thought wasn’t meant for me

Deciding to quit I almost gave in

To the temptations death gave me

Dying scared me more than death

Resulting in a limbo effect

Life was scary, death was too

Existence was pointless, I was reminded

Beating heart continued to beat

Pumping blood into my veins

Life went on like a walking snail

Time sped on like a pair of hot wheels

Years of failing and falling followed

Like shattered glass, I was broken

Soul searching days helped me stay

Alive and fighting till this day

As I healed through it all

This fight I fought all alone

Now I stand proud anew

Living life from a different view

© NJ

The previous post (Dark Sky) was what I had originally scheduled for NaPoWriMo Day 9. But since I was able to attempt the prompt given by the NaPo website, I decided to write on it and post this instead. I never really told people that I came extremely close to killing myself while undergoing depression at a very young age. It took a lot of fight in me to get through it (twice) and live through it. I have written about my struggles but never this fact. Now, the truth is finally out. 

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 9: Defying Death

  1. Oh. Dear NJ! *hugs*
    It is so brave of you to let this all out. I admire.. I so admire your valor. 🙂 You are a dauntless lady indeed. ❤
    You have created a beautiful poem on such a dark scene of your life. I sooo love this line: "Life was scary, death was too."

    I am so glad you live anew. 'Cause I am able to read and meet you. ❤

    Like

    1. Aww. I am touched, Rose ❤ Thank you 🙂
      I am glad to choose life too. Otherwise I wouldn't have enjoyed all the good times that I've had so far and met all you lovely people out here ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

