The Daily Prompt: Friend

This poem is a dedication to someone I’ve known for almost 25 years (and counting) now. We’ve been through all the ups and downs and have stuck through it all and survived. Our friendship grows stronger even though we’ve made major changes in our lives to ensure our friendship does not suffer. I hope it continues forever and someday, at the age of 70 or 80, we can sit back and talk about all the fun times we had. Thank you for being one of the most important people in my life.

He’s one of a kind, this best friend of mine

I’ve known him for long, ever since we were nine

We’ve bickered, we’ve bantered all in jest

Never did once did we give it a rest

He’s one of those, rare jewels you ever find

Like a sole blinking star in a city sky light

I don’t remember the first time we met

But I always remember the times we’ve spent

Like cheating while playing

Or even the times we spent talking

They’re now just memories but great memories they are

Of one of my best friends I’ve ever had so far

I know I’ll never meet someone like him

There can only be one as crazy as him

And so every day I thank God for him

For I’m the luckiest girl to have such a precious gift

© NJ

5 thoughts on “The Daily Prompt: Friend

Leave a Reply

