The Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out

I’m considered an optimist. I’m always encouraging people to do the things they love and I’m always there to give them that little push when they are down or scared or not sure whether what they’re chasing is worth it or not. I’m the first person standing in line cheering and egging them on and am super excited when something good happens. There I would be grinning from ear to ear and happy beyond anything in the world.

 

The problem in all this is that I’m optimistic for THEM. When it comes to me on the other hand, optimism flies right out of the window and pessimism takes its place. It’s been a struggle of sorts not to think negative of the things I want to do or learn or try out etc. As a result I really didn’t venture out in the world. Be it literally or figuratively.

 

It’s been a war of sorts and thankfully I’m now on the winning side. Don’t get me wrong, I still have a long way to go when I think about how being optimistic could have made me a different person altogether while I was growing up. But hey, what’s done is done. You can’t change the past but you definitely can change the present and make the future better.

 

So here I am, writing to that nasty little devil who used to sit (and occasionally does so now) on my shoulder and whisper evil things like, “you can’t do it, you won’t succeed, you’re a loser, people will laugh at you, you suck’ and so on, in my ears (That’s how I imagine pessimism for me).

 

Dear Pessimism,

 

Butt out and stay out.

 

Thank you.

Fighting with imaginary fists and wands and what not,

Miss Forever Optimistic

 

© NJ

Leave a Reply

