The Daily Prompt: Phobia, Shmobia

The biggest fear I’ve conquered would be the fear of LONELINESS. Ever since I was a child, I’ve been so afraid of it that I would tolerate each and every little thing done by others in my life. It didn’t matter how bad, how dumb, how painful, how appalling it was. I took it. Why? Because I felt living WITH them was much better than living WITHOUT them. I nearly reached the point of giving up. Well, life taught me that THAT isn’t so. Thankfully. But getting over it was an extremely painful process. I still go through minor bouts of it but not as severe as before. The minute the feeling creeps in, I get out of it before I fall into the trap again. 

Learning Through Trials

I tried so hard, so very hard

But now I feel I should just give up

And leave it to fate to figure it out

Where I’m heading and if I’m alone

I’ve started a course of my own

And if anyone wants to join along

They’re welcome to share their lives with me

But never to expect the same from me

I’m learning to share my love with me

I know that sounds pretty funny

But since all I did was live for others

I’m going to start living for myself

In that process if people out there

Think I’m being totally unfair

I’ll accept their word and keep my silence

For there’s no point in explaining my reason

I just hope if I live till I’m eighty

I can look back and not feel guilty

Of missing chances to do things for me

Coz I was busy doing things for others, you see

©NJ

5 thoughts on “The Daily Prompt: Phobia, Shmobia

  1. Learning the difference between being ‘alone’ and being ‘lonely’ is challenging. If you have to tolerate fools in order to not be lonely, it’s not really worth it. You can learn to appreciate being alone when necessary, and maybe that’s why so many folks have pets. 🙂 Good luck with your new goals.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Judy 🙂
      Yes, learning the difference is challenging and at the same time liberating. It helped and continues to help me treasure my ‘alone’ time rather than spend it worthlessly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

