The Daily Prompt: Take a Chance on Me

The biggest chance I ever took was to LIVE.

When you’re battling something you hadn’t yet figured out what it was, things could be tough. When things get tough and go beyond the threshold of pain, you often think about death. When you start thinking about death, you tend to veer towards things that just might help you take that drastic step.

I’ve been very close to that door but somehow I managed to pull myself away. It took a whole new level of effort to start thinking about healing. Then begin the process of healing. Then being in the middle of all that healing. And then finally reaching the stage of completely healed.

But let’s face it; no matter how strong you got, no matter how much you fought, the scars would always, ALWAYS be there.

But during those moments, the one thing that I needed and never expected to have in abundance was STRENGTH. Strength to face it all.

I needed strength to face the brutality in the words

I needed strength to listen to the harshness in the words

I needed strength to keep me strong within my heart

I needed strength to keep me from falling apart

I needed strength to carry on like nothing’s wrong

I needed strength to show I was happy all along

I needed strength to live while my heart’s beating on

I needed strength to keep me from giving it all up

I needed strength to keep me smiling through all the troubles

I needed strength to keep me calm and not run out on the double

I needed strength to fight off quitting everyday

I needed strength, I pled to God, every night and day

©NJ

2 thoughts on “The Daily Prompt: Take a Chance on Me

Leave a Reply

