The Daily Prompt: Always Something There To Remind Me

ID-10043337

A few years back I made a life changing decision. That decision was to ‘love myself’. I’m sure some of you are going ‘huh’. What I mean is that I wasn’t going to ignore myself anymore. I wasn’t going to let my life slide away. I had a tough time growing up. I went through depression, I was called all sorts of names, I wasn’t a great student in school and I even had teachers going to the extent of saying “I’ll doubt you’ll amount to anything.”

Years of fighting and struggling got me through the depression and I went on to do well in college and in life in general. Yet I refused to make myself my priority. That took longer for me to realise. But I finally did and now I’m at that stage where I am learning the art of balancing between doing things for others and doing things for myself.

That doesn’t mean I don’t have my days of feeling utterly miserable or wanting to crawl under the covers and staying there forever! Everyone goes through that. It’s the ability to not just fall or fail but also to get up that keeps one moving in life. But during those low days, we tend to do whatever it is to make ourselves feel better. Some might work out their frustrations at the gym, some might go off for a walk, some might meet up or talk to a friend, some might meditate, some might clean the house etc. There are a lot of ways to calm oneself down.

I like to do two things. Listen to some music or go for a walk. Or sometimes both. I need to get away from the source. There have been times when I couldn’t get away physically from the person or situation. For example, when it’s pouring like crazy. So then I plug in my earphones and listen to music. And that’s where one of my favorite singers, Jason Mraz comes in.

I first heard his songs on Yahoo. From then on, I was hooked. I have all his albums and I love all of them. His songs are so full of meaning and are cheery at the same time. All his songs tend to make me happy. But currently the song that really lifts me up when I’m low or frustrated is called ‘3 Things’ from his latest album, YES! The lyrics go like this:

There are three things I do when my life falls apart
Number one I cry my eyes out and dry up my heart
Not until I do this will my new life start
So that’s the first thing that I do when my life falls apart.

Oh, the second thing I do is I close both of my eyes
And say my thank-yous to each and every moment of my life.
I go where I know the love is and let it fill me up inside
Gathering new strength from sorrow,
I’m glad to be alive.

Things are looking up
I know above the clouds the sun is shining
Things are looking up
Love is still the answer I’m relying
On
Three little things
Things are looking up

The third thing that I do now when my world caves in,
is I pause, I take a breath, and bow and I let that chapter end.
I design my future bright not by where my life has been.
And I try, try, try, try, try again.
Yes I try, try, try, try, try again.

Things are looking up
I know beyond the dark the sun is rising
Things are looking up
And I know above the clouds the sun is shining
Things are looking
Love is still the answer I’m relying
On
Three little things
Three little things

It always reminds me never to return to that sinkhole again and to keep fighting and never ever forget myself. To keep reminding myself that at the end of all that darkness, the sun will be shining. For me, that’s pretty good advice. Cry your heart out, wallow for some time and then get back to the grind. Be happy and grateful for all the simple and not so simple pleasures you’ve been having. Life’s not forever. Nothing is. Which means sadness, frustration, emptiness etc. won’t last forever either. But you need to do something to get yourself out of it. Let go of the past and don’t worry too much about the future or else the present will slip away even before you know it. So take a break when needed and then keep trying and strive to better yourself at whatever it is that makes you happy and everyone around you happy too. Just like Mr. Mraz says “try, try, try again…”

©NJ

Image courtesy:- digitalart/freedigitalphotos.net and Lyrics are courtesy azlyrics

Leave a Reply

