The Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise

Birthday Notes
Birthday Notes

Living in different cities means it’s difficult for my sister and me to spend our birthdays together. But whenever possible, we don’t miss it. This year it was to be a low key affair. Not that I go partying otherwise. I’m not the partying kind. But this year, I did not want any gifts or calls or meeting up with friends. I didn’t even want a birthday cake. I wanted nothing except some quiet quality time with her.

Older than me by a few years, my sister is my world. So spending time with her on my birthday was the best gift ever possible. I had a rather trying time the weeks before my birthday and therefore barring notifying people that I’d be away and offline, I wanted to spend the day peacefully with no hullabaloo. Even more so since I had slept horribly the previous day and woke up to a splitting headache that lasted till late afternoon. Not a great way to spend one’s birthday!

We decided to spend the day watching a movie, heading out for lunch, picking up some movies to watch at home and ordering in when it was time for dinner. Unfortunately, the day before my birthday my sister had to carry work home and as a result ended up staying up till three in the morning working. We did go about as planned though and as a way of having something sweet to celebrate the moment we also had a run at a unique spice ice cream shop and treated our taste buds to some unique spice ice cream.

But she wanted to make it more memorable for me and decided on surprising me by putting up little ‘post it’ notes all over the house with wishes written on each of them. Considering I didn’t want any racket this year over my birthday, I was completely surprised and thrilled to see those notes. It was perfect. It wasn’t loud, it wasn’t intrusive, it was personal and simple… it was one of those treasured moments.

Considering I was there in the house the whole time, I wondered when and how she managed to do so. Of course, she spilled the beans out for me later on in the day. But it was a delight to read those little notes and even more to find them in some corner or the other.

I’d open a book I was reading and there was a note. I’d open my wallet and there’s another one. I’d open the newspaper and there’s the note. I’d reach into a jacket pocket or jeans and there’d be notes… and so on it went. In fact, at one point she ran out of one kind of post-it notes and switched to another kind!

It is these little things that put a smile on my face and I enjoyed reading all of them. I did at times struggle to find them but it was fun. Needless to say, I’ve saved them all.

We often do these things for each other. We know we’ll bake a cake and there’ll be gifts but there’s also often these little moments apart from those big ones that make the day truly special.

©NJ

3 thoughts on “The Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise

  1. How lovely and thoughtful of your sister to leave you little notes of happiness for your birthday. The little things are sometimes the most treasured. Glad you were able to spend time with your sister. I have three of them and they are very special.

    Like

    1. Hi, Marie
      Welcome to my blog 🙂
      Yes, we tend to do more of these little things for each other more than the big ones. We tend to treasure them a lot. My sister’s my world so I do get what you mean when you say ‘they are very special’. Thank you for visiting my blog and I hope you continue to drop by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

