The Daily Prompt: Two Right Feet

I wasn’t much of a morning person. I could stay up till two in the morning, easily. But I wanted to change that. I wanted to be up and about at an early hour. So I changed my sleep timings. Now by half past ten at night my body gives me the signal and I’m off to bed.

There are quite a few things that I do once I’m up.

First, I give my thanks. A whisper of gratefulness and then I’m out of bed. Of course the winters are a whole new story (who wouldn’t want to snuggle in their warm quilts for a bit more). I don’t keep an alarm unless I really need to. I prefer waking up when my eyes open and not be forced to get out of bed. Else I end up groggy and grumpy throughout the day and well, no one likes that.

This was taken in another city during the winter. Just before we set eyes on the sun...
This was taken in another city during the winter. Beyond those trees is a road which you can’t see due to the fog. Taken just before we set eyes on the sun…

Once out of bed, I walk straight to the window and take a good look at the sky. It’s bright and blue with barely a cloud around and I smile. I love clear blue skies. My windows don’t face the East so unfortunately I don’t get to see the sunrise but I do get to see the sunset. It is just as pretty (you can check them out here). Blue sky and white fluffy clouds with that tinge of orange-ness makes for a bright and chirpy morning. Needless to say I hate the monsoon. The sun just goes off on a four month break and I miss the blue sky. It probably puts me in the SAD group.

The orange-ness pops up...
The orange-ness pops up…
There's my morning sunshine.
There’s my morning sunshine.

Morning ablutions done with, it’s time for a couple of mugs of warm water (especially during the winters). I’m not a coffee person. Occasionally I’ll switch a mug of water for some green tea but that’s about it. Although not having water post brushing makes me feel like I’m dehydrating my body!

Depending on where I am, I also put on some happy, peppy music and sing along. Belting out songs in a not so croaky voice and dancing along with it somehow makes the day much easier to face than usual. But not listening to music doesn’t make me moody either so it’s not a necessity. I absolutely do not touch the phone. Not for at least a couple of hours. The one thing that absolutely ticks me off is waking up to the traffic noise. The incessant honking, the drilling, and the screaming voices all in a hurry to get to places… yeah, that puts me in a sour mood.

I need my blue skies, fluffy clouds, mugs of water, some peace and quiet (at least for an hour)… without these …. BE WARNED!

©NJ

5 thoughts on “The Daily Prompt: Two Right Feet

  1. Wonderful post. Part of my problem when learning to get up early was that my two favorite times of day were late at night and early in the morning. This doesn’t contribute to very much daytime productivity, so I have chosen the morning. It so satisfying experiencing the beginning of each day as it unfolds and I feel more like a part of a shared life on the planet than when I stayed up late and slept in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

