The Daily Prompt: I Got Skills

Slow but Steady

Apart from reading like a maniac, another favourite de-stressing ‘technique’ for me is BAKING. Be it cakes, cupcakes, cookies, pies, cheesecakes… I absolutely love it. Among my writer friends I am even known for my baking. I am not even close to a Nigella Lawson or a Rachel Allen! One of my friends has even named me the ‘cake girl’ so that her parents know exactly who I am. When I was a kid I used to help my mum with the baking during Christmas. There I was sitting on a chair with a big vessel on my lap and holding onto those hand mixers to get the batter all mixed up. I remember all those birthday cakes with icing on top that my mum would bake for my sister and me. Now that onus has come onto us. And my sister and I enjoy it.

I am always happy when I bake. I am in no way even near to being a professional when it comes to baking but everything, well almost everything has turned out absolutely delicious.

At first I focussed solely on getting the right taste and texture of whatever I baked. So I didn’t even look at icing and decorating cakes and cupcakes for a long time. For me, if it does not taste good, then really it’s of no use. It can look a lil wonky by all means but it needs to taste yum! And that’s what I focussed on. Only once that was achieved, did I shift my attention to the way they looked too.

Don’t get me wrong. My priority is still the taste and texture but now that I’m confident and comfortable knowing that they indeed will turn out well, I also now focus on the ‘looks’ of the baked dish.

That is one of the skills that I’m hoping to slowly learn and master in. Icing the cake fantastically and decorating it beautifully too. I feel am getting there (at least from what I see in the pictures!) … albeit slowly.

The first time I tried out icing and decorating cupcakes.
The first time I tried out icing and decorating cupcakes.
My attempt at icing and decorating a chocolate cake.
My attempt at icing and decorating a chocolate cake.
Getting better at it...
Getting better at it…
The decoration is simple but at least it looks pretty.
The decoration is simple but at least it looks pretty.

What do you think?

©NJ

4 thoughts on “The Daily Prompt: I Got Skills

Leave a Reply

