Self-Talk

ID-100224537

I wake up and smile at myself

Grateful for being alive and well

Then I whisper a soft lil prayer

That all my loved ones are healthier and wiser

As I get off the bed I say to myself

Smile and be happy and your cheerful self

I walk with a spring in my feet

And repeat to myself I will defeat

The sorrows, the horrors, the demons inside

Those are sucking the life off me inside

But fall I won’t I tell them all

Coz they’re teaching me instead to be strong

If anyone wants to stand by me

I’ll be glad, in fact more than happy

If no one wants to stand by me

I’ll smile and say that’s fine by me

I’m learning the art of being alone

I’m learning to survive on my own

Hoping someday that when I die

I’ll know that I tried hard to survive

©NJ

Image courtesy:- esadaphorn/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

4 thoughts on “Self-Talk

Leave a Reply

