Bookworm’s Booklist

Listing down TEN of my favorite books as compared to just listing my favorites down… well, it’s a hard task, I tell you. But I gathered all my strength and managed to do so. Although the list of my favorite books is an ongoing list. But here are the TEN books:-

1) The Mysterious Affairs at Styles by Agatha Christie

Her first published book was also the first book that I read written by her and I got hooked instantly. It was also the first book that got me interested in crime fiction novels. I became a fan of the pairing of Hercule Poirot and Hastings. I also love her ‘Miss Marple’ series too. I became an even bigger fan of Agatha Christie which propelled me into ensuring that I have her entire mystery series collection; which I do!

2) The Complete Adventures of Feluda by Satyajit Ray

Inspired by the famous Sherlock Holmes, Satyajit Ray comes up with his own fictional private investigator, Pradosh Mitter aka Feluda. The Bengali series translated into English has two volumes in ‘The Complete Adventures’. Feluda is often accompanied by his cousin Tapesh aka Topshe. The series is narrated in Topshe’s voice and is a jovial and fun read. Together, Feluda and Topshe solve mysteries.

3) The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

It is a beautifully written children’s literature that can be enjoyed by adults too. An adventurous story about four animals – The Mole, The Rat, The Toad and The Badger makes for a fun and lovely story. There’s something about a book that is written for both, the child and the adult. A book that can target the interest buds of both… I find that very fascinating!

4) The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak

This book is about a young girl and her relationship with her foster parents, her friend Rudy and other people living in the neighborhood. What I really liked about the book is the fact that the author narrates the book from the point of view of DEATH. ‘Death’ first encounters Liesel (the young girl) when her younger brother dies. At his funeral, she steals a book which is dropped by someone. She can’t read or write and yet she is completely fascinated by the book.  

5) Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster

This is a story about a young girl named Judy Abbot and the letters she writes to her benefactor, a man she has never ever seen in her life.

6) To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

In spite of dealing with racial inequality among other issues, this book is filled with warmth. The story focuses on a little girl named Scout Finch who is just six years old and lives with her brother and their father who is a lawyer.

7) The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman is one of my favorite authors. His books are such that children as well as adults can read them and enjoy them equally. The story follows the main character when he revisits his old town and begins to remember incidents that happened a long time ago.

8) Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

This book is about an Australian prisoner who escapes from prison and flees to Mumbai (India). It marks and portrays his life in Mumbai. Real and hard-hitting.

9) Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

This was the first romantic fiction novel that I truly liked. It’s the story about Scarlet O’Hara, the main character, and her life and the choices she makes to get herself out of poverty.

10) Odd Against by Dick Francis

Dick Francis was a jockey and a writer. His stories revolved around horses and racing. Odd Against was the first book that I read by him. And yet again just like Agatha Christie’s books I was hooked to his books too. Pretty soon I got myself his entire crime fiction series and I love each and every book of his.

©NJ

P.S. This post was inspired by IndiSpire29 wherein I had to jot down ten of my favorite books (the horrors of choosing just ten still gives me goosebumps!).

2 thoughts on “Bookworm’s Booklist

    1. Welcome to my blog, Datta Ghosh 🙂
      Wow! That’s cool! You’ll be reading Feluda in Bengali. Although I read the English version of it, it is nevertheless a brilliant book. You’ll enjoy it thoroughly.
      Thank you for commenting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

