Can I Get Some More?

6 Vanilla Ice Cream with mangoes

When I was a kid, I loved everything sweet; chocolates, cakes, ice creams, jalebis, gulab jamuns (two Indian desserts) etc. But let’s face it, which kid doesn’t? So for our birthdays, my sister’s and mine, our mother would always bake a cake and top it up with some yummy icing and what not. Needless to say, my friends and I would devour it within no time. But that doesn’t mean we never bought anything sweet. We did that too. Most of the times during the summers we bought tubs of ice cream and licked it all up in no time. Summers in India are HOT. Unbelievably HOT.

But hang on, I’ve gone off track. The whole point of this story is to tell you what that mysterious title means. So, back to ‘when I was a kid’.

My mum would cut out slices of ice cream and place each of them on separate plates for all of us and we would sit and happily enjoy it. I, on the other hand, would somehow chomp on it. Don’t ask me how. I really don’t know how I did that! But I did. I would chomp and chew and what not.

Till this date whenever we had ice cream my family members would always ask ‘do you remember how you would chew your ice cream?’ I could only grin.

As if that wasn’t cute enough, I would be the first one to finish off the ice cream and then go around my family members – mum, dad and sis and say the magic words ‘Can I Get Some More?’ or I would just point my empty plate at them. That did the trick just as fine.

Of course you use the trickery of a kiddie voice and the ‘pwetty pweeaassess’ and that ‘oh so innocent’ look and viola – you get your second helping of ice cream and chomp, chew, crunch (some of them had nuts in them to explain that crunch) it was again!

So what about you? What kinda trickery did you use as a kid or even now to get that extra helping?

©NJ

 

Leave a Reply

