Dwarf Star

Today is the 29th, the second last day of NaPoWriMo 2014… this is the prompt:- ‘Today I challenge you to find a news article, and to write a poem using (mostly, if not only) words from the article! You can repeat them, splice them, and rearrange them however you like. Although the vocabulary may be “just the facts,” your poem doesn’t have to be — it doesn’t even have to be about the subject of the news article itself.’

 

I’m a dwarf but I don’t belong to the seven

Dwarfs that are in the story of Snow White

I am not small like Happy or Dopey or Bashful

Instead I stand at three times the mass of Jupiter

I started my life like any other star in the sky

But I don’t have enough mass to sustain nuclear fusion

I am not hot like a desert in any kind of way

I am at minus 54 to minus 9 degrees Fahrenheit

I maybe chilly and cold, colder than the North Pole

But I am also called WISE J085510.83-071442.5 by the NASA people

I am so close enough that I have been discovered

But yet I’m around 7.2 light years away from the sun

I was discovered by WISE’s surveillance of the sky

Used not once but twice their infrared light

Why do they use these infrared red lights

Because I’m cool and stand out and it captures my glow

I am lucky in ways that scientists have found me

A way to discover the atmosphere of planets around

But despite my discovery and closeness to your solar system

I cannot be lived upon for I am way too cold to step on

Information courtesy:- https://www.authintmail.com

©NJ

2 thoughts on “Dwarf Star

Leave a Reply

