Rock Plowing

For today’s prompt we had to write something called as a ‘Golden Shovel.’ My instant reaction was ‘huh? A golden what now?’ But thankfully they help you out with explanations and examples that make it a teensy bit easier to understand. So what is a Golden Shovel? Well, NaPoWriMo explains it. ‘This form was invented by Terrance Hayes in his poem, The Golden Shovel. The last word of each line of Hayes’ poem is a word from Gwendolyn Brooks’ poem We Real Cool. You can read Brooks’ poem by reading the last word of each line of Hayes’ poem!’ Yeah, I was stumped too. But I attempted it and am proud of doing so. The poem I chose was Plowmen by Robert Frost. My poem is as  follows:-

Run to snow with a

Rackety noisy plow

It seems say they

Let it run, they say

Why for? What for to

do we use the plow

It is so cold in the

Winter of snow

What meaning do they

convey, I cannot

understand, I mean

What is there to

shove in and plant

I just don’t get it

I think to myself ‘no’

I think again ‘unless’

It is very much in

Anger and bitterness

To say such a thing to

Shame us and mock

Fury we feel at

Them for having

Thinking we cultivated

Nothing but a rock

©NJ

8 thoughts on “Rock Plowing

Leave a Reply

