Chocolaty Charm

Come, come to me, my precious

Said the wicked witch ‘delicious’

I will lick, lick, and lick you up

I cannot resist even a dollop

I want to toss you up with sauce

Maybe some cherries, tell your boss

Send them quick, send them to me

Send them all, send them free

I want them small, I want them big

Cupcakes, muffins, the entire thing

Wait! What? You say, ‘pay me?!’

Alright, alright, I’ll give you a penny

Soon they’ll arrive, she laughed in glee

My precious yummy treats and sweets

Her eyes are glazed with thoughts like these

As she waited for her chocolaty feast

Soon her doorbell begins to ring

Excited, wicked, she begins to sing

‘My darling precious has come to me

Oh how I wait to feast on thee.’

©NJ

So today’s NaPo prompt was for us to write a charm – ‘a simple rhyming poem, in the style of a recipe-slash-nursery rhyme. It could be a charm against warts, or against traffic tickets. It could be a charm to bring love, or to bring free pizzas from your local radio station. Here’s a little springtime example of my own concoction, inspired by what I hope turns out just to be hay-fever.’

10 thoughts on “Chocolaty Charm

Leave a Reply

