Random Words

I sit on a chair and begin to stare
At a sheet of white paper that’s totally bare
I’m trying to find the words to ink
I’m trying so hard I forget to blink

I jot down the pen and begin to connect
Letters and words that soon intersect
Slow and steady they begin to rhyme
As they do my eyes just shine

I’m forming a poem out of my mind
Not thinking, just writing what comes to mind
These letters, these words, these so few lines
I’ve written alone and they are mine

I’ll share them with you for you to read
Is it good or is it bad, is my only need
So read it and tell me just how you feel
Letting me know if I did a good deed

©NJ

27 thoughts on “Random Words

  1. Loooove it Nj… Awesome simply awesome 🙂 every word 🙂 hope to read more & more soon….

    Lots of Love & Best Wishes to youuuu 🙂

    Like

  2. Welcome to the world of blogging, NJ. That was a lovely poem and yes, a fantastic beginning. You know you gotta keep on writing coz we are gonna be waiting to read what you have written. So, onward ho. 🙂

    Like

  3. Beautiful thoughts on how a poem is formed 🙂 I agree with it 100% and you wrote it very nicely. If you wouldn’t mind me suggesting, maybe L2 of the second verse can be “Letters and words in a sentence intersects” or something like that? It’d keep the AABB beat much better then.

    Like

    1. I don’t mind suggestions at all! That’s how I’ll improve, right? 🙂 Thanks a ton for the suggestion. I’ve changed it to ‘Letters and words that soon intersect’. Hope that sounds better 🙂

      Like

  4. i am so happy you shared this one my dear. I have known you for a year and your writing voice has always been raw, tender, unpretentious. it is you in every word and this line; “I’ve written alone and they are mine” is so true. your words are yours. your words are you.

    Happy 3rd writing anniversary to you my dear! My blogging life would be dull without you! Love you looooots! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

